Author Archives: Grant Schubert

Wangi Workers Club No.1 – 2019 Tony Tamplin Winners.

The Tony Tamplin Grand Final was won by Wangi Workers No.1 team in a hard fought close match over Tennis Club.

Kenny Plows and Ray Loveridge got Wangi away to a great start with hard fought wins over Ramsey Vong and Mark Toward
Tennis fought back with a strong win by Jake Davis over Greg King with Jake showing a lot of skill with a break of 27

John Duchatel and Ben Cooper on table 2 and Neil Fatania and Kevin Parry on Table 3 battled to 1 frame all and a comeback by Tennis looked possible
John Duchatel broke Tennis hearts potting the double black after the third frame was tied.

The match was played in excellent spirits and at a high standard

Congratulations to Wangi Workers No.1 on winning the Tony Tamplin Shield and also congratulations to Tennis Club who had a great season and came in Minor Premiers

Many thanks to Belmont 16ft Sailing Club for hosting the Grand Final and Glen Wallace for helping the committee with refereeing of matches

Rex Smith Over 50s Finals – wk2

Kahibah Sports Panthers are through to the Grand Final defeating Morisset Country Club. Morisset now will play Nelson Bay Community Club, who defeated Cessnock Comets, to see who will meet Kahibah in the Grand Final.

The Morisset Country Club vs Nelson Bay Community Club preliminary final will be held at Belmont 16′ Sailing Club 1pm, on Thursday the 27th June. Good luck to both teams – spectators welcome.

Mick Ashton – RIP

It is with great sadness that we announce the untimely death of Mick Ashton from Nelson Bay Community Club. Mick passed unexpectedly Wednesday after a heart attack and will be sadly missed by the close Nelson Bay Community and the Newcastle Snooker membership of which he was a long time and well respected member. He was a fine competitor and always made time to have a chat and a laugh with everyone in the room after a match. Mick currently holds the highest break in the Over-50s competition – an impressive 62. The Committee will post funeral details here on the website as soon as they are known.

Rest In Peace Mick

New NDBSA Committee for 2019

The NDBSA is pleased to announce the new Committee for 2019. After a bumpy start at the AGM where a Committee was unable to be formed the members dug deep and came up with a Committee at a subsequent meeting. The new Committee are keen to not only build on the work of the previous Committee but also contribute with new ideas and enthusiasm. The new members are:

President: Richard Evans (Kahibah Sports Club)

Vice President: Andrew Clarke (Wangi Workers Club)

Secretary/Treasurer: Bill Marshall (Nelson Bay Community Club)

Committee members:

  • John Duchatel (Wangi Workers Club)
  • Charlie Brown (Nelson Bay Community Club)
  • Ian Olson (Belmont 16′ Sailing Club)
  • Grant Schubert (Kahibah Sports Club)

« Older Entries