Elwyn Jones Shield Billiards Format

Elwyn Jones Billiards Format

The Elwyn Jones Shield is a billiards race to 200 plus a player’s handicap. Players add their handicap minus 200 on the scoreboard then race to 0.

Each player receives a point for each win. The team with the most wins receives a bonus point.

If a player wins their game then their handicap reduces by 5 points. If a player loses their game will increase by 5 points. During the last three (3) matches of the final round handicaps don’t change (Handicap Freeze). The NDBSA grade secretary(s) reserves the right to further adjust any player’s handicap. There is no minimum handicap and 0 is the highest handicap. The lowest two (2) handicap players are the first games of the night as they are required to score more points.

Commencement of match and choice of cue ball will be determined by either ‘stringing’* or coin toss.
The 2019 season finals will be top four (4) teams after group stages directly into semi final. 1st will play 2nd with winner progressing to the Grand Final. 3rd will play 4th with winner meeting the loser of 1st and 2nd. If teams are tied after group stages the team with the superior W/L record will progress – if the W/L record is equal then a playoff will determine who goes through to the grand final.
Refer to NDBSA Game Rules and Regulations for further infomation.

*Players playing simultaneously from baulk line to top cushion and back to baulk. Closest to baulk cushion determines break-off and choice of object ball. Player loses ‘string’ if a side cushion is struck or their ball goes in a pocket.

Refer to NDBSA Game Rules and Regulations for further information.


Major Premiers $250

Runner Up $150

3rd $50

4th $50