Snooker & Billiards Shield Menus

NDBSA History

The Birth of Competition Snooker in Newcastle by Bert Agland, and very capably assisted by Nev Agland

The inaugural meeting to form a snooker association in the Newcastle district was held at the Masonic Club in October, 1961. The president Jack Keir (Masonic), Secretary Col Cations (Wallsend RSL), Committee: Jack Maynell, Bert Agland, Eddy Charlton, Col Woodard (all Masonic), Clarrie Bulmer (Adamstown RSL).

The first competition was commenced on 19/6/62, decided over an aggregate score of two frames.

The teams consisted of 5 players, all off scratch.

The captain nominated the order of his team, No.1 to No.5, at the discretion , of the order of merit of his players.

The eight original teams were Adamstown RSL, Newcastle Leagues, Masonic, Newcastle Workers, Belmont Sports, Kurri Workers, Toronto RSL and Maitland RSL.

The Minor Premiers were Adamstown RSL, and Belmont Sportys won the Grand Final, which was played at the Masonic Club, witnessed by a crowd of about 200 spectators.

Unfortunately the enthusiasm is not apparent now.


1963: Foundation President, Jack Keir, was unable to continue and Col Woodard was elected, but unfortunately, becuase of a transfer of his job to Wollongong, we lost his services. Two of the original eight teams (Maitland RSL and Toronto RSL) did not nominate, but the vacancies were filled by Cessnock Ex-Services and Wallsend RSL.

This competition was won again by Belmont Sportys.

1964: I was elected President, and it has been my pleasure to occupy the position ever since.

To assist the weaker clubs, the format was altered to a handicap system

<<rest of letter to be updated as time permits>>